Nation unto thyself

After last week’s class, I couldn’t help but continue to wonder about nationalism, and what definition of nationalism I derive for myself. As someone who has grown up in the United States his entire life, I was handed a pretty narrow definition of the nation and the nation state. I think that as a United States Citizen growing up in rural Pennsylvania, I was surrounded by this very clear-cut understanding of the “nation state,” even though nobody in my podunk town would have ever used such language to describe it that way. I think that it’s difficult sometimes to wrap your head around such ideals because of your level of exposure to the outside world. Growing up in a small town, I believe there are two kinds of people: Those with a knowledge and understanding of the world that is simple, albeit limited, one in which the “world” only incorporates a 10-mile radius; and those kind of people that seek out other cultural understandings of the world, and know there has to be more diversity than white, middle-class and Republican.

And as shameful as it is to admit, there are still members in my family who have never left that 10-mile radius, and who probably never will. To put it ever-so-nicely, there is a vacuum of information (or rather, misinformation) that occurs in many rural areas of the country. It is, what I like to call, a “nation of ignorance.” And I’ve often wondered if two similar groups of people with a similar upbringing, but from different areas, would harbor the same sentiments on a lot of issues. Let’s say a group from my hometown, and another from an equally rural town in Wyoming or Kansas. I wonder how well these two subnations would get along. And then I got to thinking, are these farflung “nations” of people just the voter base of the tea party? (It’s okay to laugh, I grinned when I wrote it.)

But in all seriousness, is the notion of the “nation” just another way of saying “class,” “race,” or any other identifier that subdivides people. Don’t we share experiences from a multitude of places? Should we feel bad for those whom extract comfort and pleasure from shared experiences with others just like themselves?

 

-David R

One thought on “Nation unto thyself

  1. David, I really enjoyed reading your piece (I thoroughly enjoyed the pictures as well). I agree with the idea you presented about there being a wealth of misinformation. I couldn’t help but wonder how much the media have do with that. Generally speaking, most people from smaller communities tend to follow the news through local/traditional news outlets. What happens when your source of news is, lets say, Fox News? Does that reinforce the (mis)information and stereotypes about people of different classes, races, ethnicities? I think people of all “nations” need to be responsible citizens in how they consume media. Many Americans rely on news stations like Fox for information, shaping their global outlet. And quite frankly, that scare me! And, it makes we wonder how this will affect the future generation.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

