Globalization and pop culture

After last week’s discussion on globalization, I was reminded of my own consumption habits in regards to popular culture. From my early teen years onward, I slowly began to expose myself to music, novels, and celebrity news from other countries. I think the advent of the Internet is completely responsible for this change in my artistic preferences, as I would have never been able to freely look for content that wasn’t authentically “American” before. When reading a lot of literature on the phenomenon of globalization, I often question whether my generation is the first to be truly inculcated by the appeal of global media – if we choose. I think there are pockets of people, as there will always be pockets of such people, who will never willingly expose themselves to global media. I qualify said exposure with “willingly” because as globalization continues to develop, the media and culture will undoubtedly include globalized aspects.

 

I think this photo helps to illustrate one aspect of globalization in relation to global brands.

I always try to evaluate if this exposure to global media as a teenager helped to drive my interests and understanding of international media, or if the shift in global media was an organic transition, ie.: did global media find me, or did I find it? Do you think your choices in pop culture and media reflect your true tastes, or do you think globalization plays a role?

 

-David

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

