Extreme News Make-over

I think the field of communication needs a SERIOUS make-over. The other day, I told my roommate, who is in a completely different program, that I want to work in Communication but that I hate the news.

The truth is, I really hate the news.

I hate that what sells, ‘news’-wise is the easy stuff. It’s easy to write about the scandals, and the one-in-a-million stories, the stories that make people tear up. It isn’t so easy to write about the hard stuff. It isn’t easy to write about the fact that, years later, we’re still deeply entrenched in a war whose cause is still unknown.

I hate that tabloids make up a big portion of the world’s focus. It’s too easy to watch others “walk on stairs” (re: my comment in class about how Us Weekly is going even more to shit), but it isn’t easy to write about the human rights violations.

And yet, you wonder why I hate the news? It’s not easy to talk about the stories that should matter, but lose pertinence within a few days. It’s not easy to talk about the injustices we cause ourselves, or the pain we feel.

I think it should be required for everyone to hate the news. It’s only with hating the news that we can talk about the news worth talking about.

– Tara

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

